It’s paint selection time for my residential remodel project and I am a little crazy-obsessed with what some people casually refer to as ‘white paint’!  There are a million shades of white paint…and having gone through the dozens of swatches that I have pulled from various paint distributors spread out across my work table, I finally have narrowed down the selections for the client to about 10 – which will get narrowed down again for samples to paint on her walls so that she can live with them for a while in the space.  Whites are so subtle and subjective it is an incredible task to select the perfect white.  I tend to use cooler whites in my own home, because if I am ‘going white’ I like it to be crisp and clean, but the client for this particular project generally likes warmer tones.  The flooring we are going with is a mid range wood floor, which is warm but with gray overtones, and though she says she is ready to break out of her comfort zone, I don’t want to choose a white that she won’t enjoy long-term.  The room also has large windows on 3 sides, which casts a lot of green light into the space.  We decided on a general palette at the beginning of the design process, which includes whites, pale, pale ever-so-slightly-dusty-bluish grays, tan or wood tones and touches of black.  We are using a decent amount of black details throughout the kitchen ( though officially opted out of going with the black fridge ) which now opens up to the living room, or what I am calling the ‘Great Room’.  The style we are going for is modern farmhouse, and given the overall palette so far, a (ever so) slightly grayish white should work…now to find the perfect one…

photo via so|sf

