Tags

Here we go again.

It’s paint selection time again, but this time for our own house.  We are still in the process of redoing our front courtyard, which the rain (finally!!) has delayed a bit,  but we (I) have been wanting (dying) to update our exterior paint color(s) as well.  One of the two current colors on our house has been making me crazy for a long, long time.  And it always seems like once you start a new project, others that may have been lower on ‘the list’, suddenly become more important or integral to the other project you are doing!  That being said, I have started the search for the perfect exterior paint colors – or the black and the gray to be exact.  O.k.  I’ll admit it.  I want a black house.  Is that weird?  Every time I see a good black house, I just love the sophistication and boldness, but also how it kind of ‘sits back’.  Black makes me calm for some reason.  And happy.  Our house is mid-century modern, so its kind of a natural palette for the architecture anyway.  But which black and / or which gray??  Blacks and grays are so, SO specific…they can go very blue, very green, very red – or even purple – which I do not want.  I am looking for a very neutral, rich, ever-so-slightly warm-ish black and the perfect dark gray to go with it.  I will probably paint a few more swatches and then finally end up just mixing my own custom color and have it matched…Let the insanity begin…Keep you posted!

via HB Color app

via restorationhardware.com

Restoration Hardware also has a new color not shown on their site. It’s called Obsidian and it’s a gorgeous very black-brown…Flint (the dark swatch above) is great as well…a serious contender.

via Dwell

I have been saving this image for a few years now.  I love the black, white and concrete palette – simple and clean.

via Remodelista.com

via Remodelista.com

via Dwell

